Thursday, April 09, 2020

Kansas Vehicle Registration

The Morris County Treasurer's Office is an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees, and sales tax, if applicable. Each year the State sends out courtesy reminders six weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. It is a state law that every vehicle has proper insurance coverage before the vehicle can be registered. We handle the initial titling of vehicles in Morris County, as well as the annual renewals. Once a vehicle is purchased, the new owner has 60 days in which to bring their documentation into our office to be processed. If the purchase is an out-of-state title, the owner of the vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification inspection completed. This is done at the Morris County Sheriff's Office for a charge of $20.00 by exact cash. The Highway Patrol must inspect all Salvage/Non Highway vehicles for $20.00 by exact cash. Inspections are done from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. The license plates in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person on the title.

Vehicle Tag Schedule

Last name begins with:
Tag expires at midnight on:
February 28 (or 29)
March 31
C, D
April 30
E, F, G
May 31
H, I
June 30
J, K, L
July 31
M, N, O
August 31
P, Q, R
September 30
October 31
T, V, W
November 30
U, X, Y, Z
December 31


Resources & Links

Kansas Department of Revenue - Vehicle Information
Reprint Vehicle Renewals
Web Renewals